C major 7th chord

Cmaj7 chord for piano with keyboard diagram.
Explanation: The C major seventh is a four-note chord. You can see the four notes of the C major seventh chord marked in red color. The chord is often abbreviated as Cmaj7.
Theory: The C major seventh chord is constructed with a root, a major thirdAn interval consisting of four semitones, the 3rd scale degree, a perfect fifthAn interval consisting of seven semitones, the 5th scale degree and a major seventhAn interval consisting of eleven semitones, the 7th scale degree.
Fingerings: Little finger, middle finger, index finger, thumb (left hand); thumb, index finger, middle finger, little finger (right hand).


Cmaj7 piano chord
Notes: C - E - G - B
Left hand: 5-3-2-1
Right hand: 1-2-3-5

Bmaj7 chord ‹ Previous • Next › C#maj7 chord

+  Show inversions: Cmaj7/E, Cmaj7/G, Cmaj7/B -  Hide inversions

Cmaj7 - inversions

Explanation: The piano chords pictured below are the three inversions of Cmaj7. Cmaj7/E is a C major seventh with E as the bass note, Cmaj7/G is a C major seventh with G as the bass note and Cmaj7/B is a C major seventh with B as the bass note.


Cmaj7/E chord diagram
1st inversion


Cmaj7/G chord diagram
2nd inversion


Cmaj7/B chord diagram
3rd inversion

C chord categories

C Cm C7 Cm7 Cmaj7 CmM7 C6 Cm6 C6/9 C5 C9 Cm9 Cmaj9 C11 Cm11 Cmaj11 C13 Cm13 Cmaj13 Cadd C7-5 C7+5 Csus Cdim Cdim7 Cm7b5 Caug Caug7