G major 7th chord

Gmaj7 chord for piano with keyboard diagram.
Explanation: The G major seventh is a four-note chord. You can see the four notes of the G major seventh chord marked in red color. The chord is often abbreviated as Gmaj7.
Theory: The G major seventh chord is constructed with a root, a major thirdAn interval consisting of four semitones, the 3rd scale degree, a perfect fifthAn interval consisting of seven semitones, the 5th scale degree and a major seventhAn interval consisting of eleven semitones, the 7th scale degree.
Fingerings: Little finger, middle finger, index finger, thumb (left hand); thumb, index finger, middle finger, little finger (right hand).


Gmaj7 piano chord
Notes: G - B - D - F#
Left hand: 5-3-2-1
Right hand: 1-2-3-5

Gbmaj7 chord ‹ Previous • Next › G#maj7 chord

+  Show inversions: Gmaj7/B, Gmaj7/D, Gmaj7/F# -  Hide inversions

Gmaj7 - inversions

Explanation: The piano chords pictured below are the three inversions of Gmaj7. Gmaj7/B is a G major seventh with B as the bass note, Gmaj7/D is a G major seventh with D as the bass note and Gmaj7/F# is a G major seventh with F# as the bass note.


Gmaj7/B chord diagram
1st inversion


Gmaj7/D chord diagram
2nd inversion


Gmaj7/F# chord diagram
3rd inversion

G chord categories

G Gm G7 Gm7 Gmaj7 GmM7 G6 Gm6 G6/9 G5 G9 Gm9 Gmaj9 G11 Gm11 Gmaj11 G13 Gm13 Gmaj13 Gadd G7-5 G7+5 Gsus Gdim Gdim7 Gm7b5 Gaug Gaug7