F major 7 chord

Fmaj7 chord for piano with keyboard diagram.
Explanation: The F major seventh is a four-note chord. You can see the four notes of the F major seventh chord marked in red color. The chord is often abbreviated as Fmaj7.
Theory: The F major seventh chord is constructed with a root, a major thirdAn interval consisting of four semitones, the 3rd scale degree, a perfect fifthAn interval consisting of seven semitones, the 5th scale degree and a major seventhAn interval consisting of eleven semitones, the 7th scale degree.
Fingerings: Little finger, middle finger, index finger, thumb (left hand); thumb, index finger, middle finger, little finger (right hand).


Fmaj7 piano chord
Notes: F - A - C - E
Left hand: 5-3-2-1
Right hand: 1-2-3-5

Emaj7 chord ‹ Previous • Next › F#maj7 chord

+  Show inversions: Fmaj7/A, Fmaj7/C, Fmaj7/E -  Hide inversions

Fmaj7 - inversions

Explanation: The piano chords pictured below are the three inversions of Fmaj7. Fmaj7/A is an F major seventh with A as the bass note, Fmaj7/C is an F major seventh with C as the bass note and Fmaj7/E is an F major seventh with E as the bass note.


Fmaj7/A chord diagram
1st inversion


Fmaj7/C chord diagram
2nd inversion


Fmaj7/E chord diagram
3rd inversion

F chord categories

F Fm F7 Fm7 Fmaj7 FmM7 F6 Fm6 F6/9 F5 F9 Fm9 Fmaj9 F11 Fm11 Fmaj11 F13 Fm13 Fmaj13 Fadd F7-5 F7+5 Fsus Fdim Fdim7 Fm7b5 Faug Faug7