D major 7th chord

Dmaj7 chord for piano with keyboard diagram.
Explanation: The D major seventh is a four-note chord. You can see the four notes of the D major seventh chord marked in red color. The chord is often abbreviated as Dmaj7.
Theory: The D major seventh chord is constructed with a root, a major thirdAn interval consisting of four semitones, the 3rd scale degree, a perfect fifthAn interval consisting of seven semitones, the 5th scale degree and a major seventhAn interval consisting of eleven semitones, the 7th scale degree.
Fingerings: Little finger, middle finger, index finger, thumb (left hand); thumb, index finger, middle finger, little finger (right hand).


Dmaj7 piano chord
Notes: D - F# - A - C#
Left hand: 5-3-2-1
Right hand: 1-2-3-5

Dbmaj7 chord ‹ Previous • Next › D#maj7 chord

+  Show inversions: Dmaj7/F#, Dmaj7/A, Dmaj7/C# -  Hide inversions

Dmaj7 - inversions

Explanation: The piano chords pictured below are the three inversions of Dmaj7. Dmaj7/F# is a D major seventh with F# as the bass note, Dmaj7/A is a D major seventh with A as the bass note and Dmaj7/C# is a D major seventh with C# as the bass note.


Dmaj7/F# chord diagram
1st inversion


Dmaj7/A chord diagram
2nd inversion


Amaj7/C# chord diagram
3rd inversion

D chord categories

D Dm D7 Dm7 Dmaj7 DmM7 D6 Dm6 D6/9 D5 D9 Dm9 Dmaj9 D11 Dm11 Dmaj11 D13 Dm13 Dmaj13 Dadd D7-5 D7+5 Dsus Ddim Ddim7 Dm7b5 Daug Daug7