E major seventh chord

Emaj7 chord for piano with keyboard diagram.
Explanation: The E major seventh is a four note chord. You can see the four notes of the E major seventh chord marked in red color. The chord is often abbreviated as Emaj7.
Theory: The E major seventh chord is constructed with a root, a major third, a perfect fifth and a major seventh.
Fingerings: little finger, middle finger, index finger, thumb (left hand); thumb, index finger, middle finger, little finger (right hand).


Emaj7 piano chord
Notes: E - G# - B - D#

Ebmaj7 chord ‹ Previous • Next › Fmaj7 chord

+  Show inversions: Emaj7/G#, Emaj7/B, Emaj7/D# -  Hide inversions

Emaj7 - inversions

Explanation: The piano chords pictured below are the three inversions of Emaj7. Emaj7/G# is a E major seventh with G# as the bass note, Emaj7/B is a E major seventh with B as the bass note and Emaj7/D# is a E major seventh with D# as the bass note.


Emaj7/G# chord diagram
1st inversion


Emaj7/B chord diagram
2nd inversion


Emaj7/D# chord diagram
3rd inversion

E chord categories

E Em E7 Em7 Emaj7 E6 Em6 E6/9 E5 E9 Em9 Emaj9 E11 E13 Eadd E7-5 E7+5 Esus Edim Eaug